HD Property Video Available. Stucan-T-Iobart is a delightful white painted stone cottage that dates back to the mid 1700's and sits amidst gardens of just over two acres. With a truly stunning setting in an iconic location, on the western shores of Loch Lomond, the property takes in fantastic views across the loch over to Ben Lomond. As well as the cottage itself there is an additional outbuilding/byre that offers great storage and with a shower room, utility room and garage/store. The gardens that surround the property are made up of extensive lawns and mature trees with a long driveway leading from the shore road up to the house. Just off the driveway is a parking area and the gardens also feature a small stream meandering through them.
Perfectly suited to be used as a lucrative holiday let, the interior of the cottage is delightfully presented and retains the exposed stone walls in the lounge, kitchen and dining room, with a feature open fire in the lounge and a sizeable picture window taking in the views to the front. The cosy bedrooms can all accommodate double beds and the bathroom has a white three piece suite.
Stucan-T-Iobart is located close to the picturesque villages of Tarbet and Arrochar and with the large seaside town of Helensburgh approximately 13 miles away providing a wide selection of amenities. Balloch is also nearby, within about 14 miles drive, and just along the western shore of Loch Lomond is the iconic Loch Lomond Golf Club, the renowned Cameron House Hotel and the Carrick Golf Resort and Spa. The area is synonymous for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits with great walks and hill climbs, stunning scenery and fantastic wildlife.
The origins of the cottage were settled amidst the great Scottish Rebellion of 1745, the year General George Wade, the English Commander-in-Chief, was ordered by the King to deal with the rebellious Scottish highlanders. Wade built a series of forts, bridges and roads to enable troops to patrol the region. The remains of one of the roads can still be seen within the cottage grounds.
In 1306 King Robert the Bruce met with two defeats in a row: the first was Methven Wood by the Earl of Pembroke; the second was at Dalrigh by McDougall of Lorne trying to avenge the death of Red Comyn at Bruce's hand. Safety for his 200 followers now lay across the waters of Loch Lomond, but the problem was transportation. Sir James Douglas, one of Bruce's closest friends, saved the day; he found a leaky boat which could hold three at a stretch. Bruce, Douglas and an oarsman tested the boat's viability by trying to reach the west shore whilst bailing out the water. Ferrying back and forth, it took a whole night and a day for the 200 to cross, some finding it quicker to swim. Tradition ascribes this as the yew tree (The Kings Tree) by which Bruce entertained his troops with tales of valour and a singalong whilst waiting until the last of his men were safely across. It is situated at Stucan-T-Iobart (pronounced stookan cheepurt), about 100 yards south of Firkin Toll House (NN 334012). It was quite old even in Bruce's day. EPC - Band G
A few things about this property:
- Traditional stone built detached cottage
- Additional stone built byre with potential holiday accommodation
- Extensive gardens of over two acres
- Entrance vestibule
- Reception hall
- Dining room
- Three bedrooms
The finer detail:
- Stunning loch side setting
- Views across Loch Lomond to Ben Lomond
- Close to Tarbet, Helensburgh and Balloch
- Beautifully presented mature gardens with stream
- Electric heating
- Double glazed
The town is served by three railway stations, Helensburgh Upper on the West Highland Line, Craigendoran, on the North Clyde Line and Helensburgh Central, the terminus of the North Clyde Line. It takes 50 minutes to reach the shops and offices of Glasgow City Centre and another 50 minutes to Edinburgh and the East Coast.
The seafront has an indoor swimming pool, an esplanade walk, a range of shops, cafes and pubs and sailing facilities including a marina in Rhu. The streets are built on a gentle slope rising to the north east, and at the brow of the hill a golf club has views looking south out over the town where numerous other sports are active including football, rugby, cricket, athletics, netball, hockey, curling, bowling, sailing and fishing.
The locality is well served by a number of excellent state primary schools providing the high attainment secondary school, Hermitage Academy, with an annual influx of children eager to learn about well known townspeople such as John Logie Baird, the inventor of television; Henry Bell, who built the first passenger steamship ‘The Comet’ ; architect William Leiper ; actress Deborah Kerr ; poet WH Auden ; writer AJ Cronin ; and Prime Minister Bonar Law amongst many others. Lomond School, an independent, co-educational and boarding school also offers private education in central Helensburgh.